Happy Friday!

{Happy Friday: a few things I’ve enjoyed this week}

– I joined Elizabeth’s pen pal project and am excitedly waiting for my first letter. I haven’t hand-written a letter in years! When I was a kid (back before I had any inkling of what the Internet was) my sisters and I would write letters to our friends in other states all the time. We were serious letter writers. We each had our own American Girl stationary sets. (Remember those?) I’m also excited about actually getting to hand-write something. I’m always typing these days and I miss writing by hand.

By the way, did you know it costs $9 for a tiny book of stamps?! I bought some the other day and felt like a true grown-up. It’s the small things, you know…like getting a library card, buying stamps, registering to vote….

– Speaking of handwriting things, this orange bag would make a perfect pen case. I’ve also fallen in love with this Garrison Bag from the same shop.

– A tube wringer: kinda weird, but kinda helpful.

Polaroid frames

– And since I’ve been reading everything there is about blogging lately, here’s a pretty helpful post from Social TriggersHow to Write the Perfect Blog Post

I will be in Florida with the boyfriend and family this weekend. I am looking forward to laying on the beach all day and not doing anything! Except eat a lot of Cuban food, of course. This will be the second beach trip for me this summer and, most likely, the last. Summer weekends fill up so fast!

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday!

  1. For a beginner blog, you’re very good! You’ve got quite a journalism career ahead of you as far as I can tell. I am about to start my sophomore year at UT as a journalism major. Any tips? Also, I loved the “how to write a perfect blog post” link. Very easy to follow! And made a lot of sense. I’ve been blogging for three years now, but there’s always more to learn.

    Best,
    Molly from http://www.bridgetsowndiary.com/

    • Thank you for your kind words! I’m always excited to meet fellow journalism majors, especially journalism majors who blog. What do you want to do with your degree? I feel like there’s SO much you can do with this type of degree. I’ve been leaning towards online media/blogging/social media, but I’d love to hear what others have done with journalism degrees.

      By the way, I checked out your blog and it’s really cute! I love your layout. My URL has changed so if you’d like to follow along, I’m over here now: http://www.witandspice.wordpress.com

      -Whitney

Leave a Reply

