Those Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer

Ha! Bet I got that song stuck in your head now!

Unless you live somewhere near the North Pole, I imagine you know that it has been crazy hot these last few days. 100-106 was the average temperature around here. And don’t forget to add 100% humidity on top of that, this being the South and all. Everywhere I turn all I hear is how hot it is. Every person who comes into the cafe says something about the heat. Every talkshow host, weather man, and DJ have been talking about it on the radio. Sure, it’s record-setting temperatures but people….it’s summer!

On Sunday, a large part of Mark’s family came over to the house for Sunday lunch and some combined birthday celebrating. We ate tons of food, sang happy birthday, gorged ourselves on cake and ice cream and spent the whole day lounging around the house (in the AC) together. I love being outside in the summer, but there’s something nice about being stuck inside when you’re stuck inside with some fun people. To me, it’s kind of like when you were a kid and a snowstorm would keep you housebound for a few days. After a two or three days it gets old hat and you’d give anything to get out of that house, but there was always something exciting and fun about that first day.

You all probably have no idea I’m talking about.

Anyway, that’s what Sunday felt like to me.

Do any of you guys prefer crazy hot summer weather to winter? I will take these 100 degree days over winter ANY day. Growing up in the South, you start to get used to the heat after awhile. AND we grew up in a house that had no AC until we were teenagers. (Shocked gasp!) So I like to think I’m a bit more familiar with summer in the South than the majority of people.

None of this is to say that you’ll never hear me complaining about the heat. Ha! You probably will. But, may I just say, that I am glad to be complaining about heat these days and not cold or snow.

I’m glad and thankful to live in the South where 95 degrees is a chilly day.

Photo from tumblr

Leave a Reply

