Pinterest

Last night, I cleaned up my pinterest.

This may seem like a complete waste of precious time to you, but I like to think of it differently. 

Pinterest is described as a virtual pinboard that allows users “to organize and share all the beautiful things [they] find on the web”. It’s like that bulletin board over your desk, with torn-out pages of magazines posted on it — just a virtual version. And just as that literal bulletin board gets rearranged and cleaned up ever so often, so does the virtual one.

A handful of pins got deleted,  a few got repinned to more appropriate boards, and the board covers got changed.

In my cleaning spree, I found pins that I had posted that I honestly did not like. For some, my taste has changed and they just weren’t appealing any longer. Others….well, I don’t know what I was thinking when I clicked that Repin button. The pins that fell under this category were quickly sent away to Pinterest land for some other more appreciative person to pin.

I also reorganized my boards, creating new ones and deleting others. I get a little OCD when it comes to organizing. That was one of the biggest reasons Pinterest appealed to me in the first place. I love the fact that, not only do I get to keep track of beautiful things I find on the web, but I get to organize them neatly.

Pinterest’s board covers is something new. I like them! Finding the perfect cover for each board gave my personal pinterest page a face lift. Each cover was chosen to not only complement the board, but also the boards beside it.

All of this may seem like a load of baloney to some of you, but I like to think of it as time well-spent. The Internet is so important right now. Every person under the sun has their own piece of it. And when they happen to land on the page with my name splashed across the top, I want my corner of the Internet to be inviting, appealing, and beautiful.

Images from Pinterest: here and here

Sidenote: I called Pinterest “pin-interest” for the longest time. I’m not ashamed of it. I think it sounds better that way.


Leave a Reply

